Intentionality   2 comments


Greetings, and welcome!


Please let me tell you what this space is all about, and of my intentions going forward with this project:

Though I had been working in the computer field for many years, I successfully resisted most forms of ‘social networking’ and electronic interaction, save for email. It’s not that I’m anti-social — quite to the contrary — but I’ve always sensed a distance, or disconnect, with most electronic communication.  I’d far rather have a personal, face-to-face conversation, or at the very least, a one-on-one email exchange with someone.  But, there just aren’t enough hours in the day anymore, so I hope this will be a place where I can share a few things that I find interesting or useful.

My presence on the web these days tends to be in the field of photography.  I have a bit of a presence on Flickr and recently created a photography web site, my first site ever, at RobHansonPhotography.com.  Now, this.

While I produce many images that are single-exposure frames, I have a great interest in High Dynamic Range (HDR) photography, as a quick look at my website will show. HDR imaging allows us to see the world via a camera, capturing an image as we always have, but does so in a way that is closer to how our eyes actually see a scene. More on that later, to be sure.

A number of people have asked me to share some of the things I’ve discovered along the way, and I do so quite willingly.  If it weren’t for other photographers sharing what they know, I wouldn’t be able to accomplish half of what I do.  I owe these generous people a debt of gratitude.

I’m not at all worried about sharing “secrets.”  The beauty of the endeavor is this:  Two of us can use the same camera, at the same event, standing side-by-side, shooting the same scene. I guarantee that the result will be two completely different final images, and if they are somehow the same, it’ll be a fluke.  Once the scene has hit the camera’s sensor all bets are off, because post-processing can take the image in a thousand different directions.

I rue the day that cameras shoot HDR directly, and that day is coming soon.  I think that’ll take a lot of the creative process away, and yet I have hope that we’ll still be able to innovate, adapt, and find new ways of expressing our creative potential.

My intentions are:

To share what I have learned.

To share my photographic vision.

To connect with others.

To have a creative writing venue. If a picture is worth a thousand words, why not combine the two?

My best wishes to you, and happy shooting!

Rob

Posted June 2, 2010 by Rob Hanson Photography in HDR

2 responses to “Intentionality

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there Rob, looks good. I look forward to checking in and seeing whats new, have fun with it!I will be checking back in

  2. Superb blog very well writtenand very Imformativekind regards my friend.Lightpoacher..

Leave a Reply

