Review: Printing on aluminum with SizzlPix!   3 comments


Smoke 'N Sunset - image of planes with smoke trails.

Recently, a client of mine expressed an interest in buying one of my images to help brighten up a dark area of a room. There was one image in particular that they were thinking of, but there were a few concerns: The cost of mounting, matting, framing, and glassing a large 36″ image; the weight of the final product; and the fact that matte prints can appear rather flat and dull, despite post-processing treatments to jazz them up. Most importantly, the client wanted the image to look like it did on their computer screen — backlit, bright, luminescent, etc. — which, as we know, is almost impossible with prints, although metallic paper adds some of that extra dimension.

While listening to a recent podcast from Derrick Story, I had heard about an outfit in California, called SizzlPix! Derrick invited the CEO of SizzlPix!, Don Sherman, in for an interview.  It sounded pretty good, so I checked them out further to see if their product could meet my client’s needs. Knowing that there are other sources for aluminum/metal prints, I contacted Don to see if he could explain how his product differed from other offerings, and if he could justify what seemed to me an uplift in base pricing over his competitors.

In a thorough and gracious email, Don sold me on the differences, not the least of which is the personal attention and hands-on care that each order receives.  As I went through the process with Don, I could see it was true.  Each order is carefully attended to, and they don’t start until all questions are answered.  One item that caught my attention is that SizzlPix! prefers high-quality input, so I was able to send them a flattened 16-bit TIF file in Adobe RGB colorspace instead of the typical JPG/sRGB upload. (I know, I know… JPGs usually look great even in larger sizes, but I wanted to retain as much pixel and color happiness as possible. Why short ourselves?) They also offer a 30-day ‘remake or refund’ guarantee, so how could I go wrong?

I sent up the TIF, had several pleasant email conversations with Don, and they had the product turned around in about two days.  UPS, of course, did their typically stellar job in elevating my heart rate when I saw what they can do to a box.  Good thing we didn’t mark it “Fragile”, or it would have gotten the ‘special treatment.’

All was well inside the box, as things were well packed.

I took out the final product and was very, very pleased with the result.  We got the standard mounting system.  The final product was light, well-reproduced, not cropped, and had all the brightness that my client could have wanted.  While metallic papers can add a lot of punch and brightness, especially to an HDR image, the effect tends to be localized to certain, lighter regions of the picture, and those regions can be garish in the wrong light.  On the SizzlPix! print, the entire image had a luminescent, almost 3-D quality to it.

I delivered the SizzlPix! print to my client yesterday, and they LOVED it.  It was exactly what they were looking for.  I got a second followup email from them this morning, reiterating how much they were pleased.

In the end, the most important things when dealing with clients are: Listening carefully to what they’re looking for and what problem they’re trying to solve; targeting an effective solution; providing attentive and superior service; and closing the deal with a satisfied customer.

In case you’re interested in seeing which image was ordered, you can open a new window to see Smoke ‘N Sunset in larger format on my Transportation galleries.

Rob

Disclaimer: I will never review or tout something that I haven’t used, or don’t firmly believe in as being helpful to the cause of delivering better photographs. As a result of this exchange with Don Sherman at SizzlPix!, we have arranged that I can offer a 10% discount on any SizzlPix! order. Please see my Discounts page on this blog (soon to be posted on my website, as well), or simply enter “RobHanson” in the comment area on the order form.

3 responses to “Review: Printing on aluminum with SizzlPix!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are these prints mounted onto plexiglass with an aluminum backing? I’ve seen some of these at the artshows they are amazing. Been looking for someone that does this type of printing.

  2. Hi, Captain!

    I recently ordered and received a 36″ standard mount print on aluminum from SizzlPix! It did not have a plexiglass backing.

    The sheet of aluminum is coated with a smooth surface, probably white. Then, using heat and pressure, SizzlPix! infuses the coating with dyes. On the standard mount, there is a block of Gatorboard on the back with a hanger installed. A simply nail or screw in the wall will hold the image, as it’s very light.

    There are also two other frame options available from SizzlPix!

    Rob

  3. I work in a print house in Norway. We print on aluminium also. It is nice to read about what I do every day.

Leave a Reply

