Speak Softly   4 comments


A large driftwood tree on the beach at Hammonasset Beach State Park, Connecticut

~
“Speak softly, but carry a big stick. You will go far.”

It’s a phrase coined by Theodore Roosevelt, although it is possibly a proverb from South Africa. Roosevelt described his style of foreign policy as “the exercise of intelligent forethought and of decisive action sufficiently far in advance of any likely crisis.”

~

I’ve always found portrait orientation to be difficult. Our monitors all tend to be wide-screen, and that makes sense, as that’s how our eyes are conditioned to view the world. I’ve never heard of a “tall screen” monitor, after all. Perhaps that’s why scroll bars were invented. [Correction: Dave Wilson tells me that he has a portrait-orientation monitor.]

For a larger view (and more scrolling), visit this image in a new window on the Waterscapes gallery. Just click the image.

HDR from five exposures at 1EV steps. Photomatix Pro 4, Shadowmapping, and NIK Color Efex Pro filters.

As always, thanks for looking, and for your kind comments.

4 responses to “Speak Softly

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting post and great image, Rob. Strangely enough, I’m the opposite. I think about 70% of my images are portrait format and I have been making an effort recently to shoot more in landscape. Regarding portrait monitors, there are actually many (I’m using one right now). Quite a few modern LCDs can be rotated into portrait format with the appropriate setting change in the display driver.

  2. Hi, Dave —

    Well, there’s my “something new for the day”, learned. I’m thinking I should change the description now, which I just may do.

    I’ll have to get out and see one of those portrait monitors. I don’t think I’ve ever noticed one before.

  3. so peaceful looking

  4. amazing…!!!

Leave a Reply

