The Shadow of Coincidence   6 comments


Photographer Rob Hanson catches his own shadow at Otter Point, Acadia National Park, Maine

~

You think the shadow is the substance — Rumi

Like the shadow
I am
And
I am not. — From “Love Poems of Rumi”

Recently, I was flipping through my library of shots from the fall journey to coastal Maine, and found this one. I thought I’d post my first “self-portrait” of sorts.

The day I was going to put it up, though, fellow HDR fanatics Jacob Lucas and Bob Lussier did an interesting cross-post that involved shadows. I figured I should wait a bit, so as not to interfere with their fun.

I’ve long thought that shadows were an interesting concept. We point to them as though they have substance. “That’s MY shadow.” “Look, there is a shadow over there.” As though shadows are a thing. Yet, they are no-thing; only the absence of reflected light.

Keep up to date with our HDR friends: Follow Bob and Jacob on Twitter. I’m there, too.

In other news, good friend Captain Kimo just dropped his new e-book, Mastering the Secrets of HDR Processing. Click Here for more information.

~

This was taken from a single frame which, sadly, was rather washed out. After a little work with ACR and multiple exposure files, fed into the usual HDR programs, something interesting came out of it.

6 responses to “The Shadow of Coincidence

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love it!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Shadow of Coincidence « Rob Hanson Photography Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. Well done! Well said!

  4. Thanks, DJ!

  5. Very cool idea Rob!

  6. Thanks for the shout-out Rob – great job on your version of my silhouette image! I really enjoy the colours in this.

Leave a Reply

