Reclamation   7 comments


An old, rusty Ford truck dissolves underneath pine trees in rural Pollocksville, North Carolina

Reclamation

~

I had stopped at Clyde Jr.’s place along the highway because he had an interesting collection of tractors in various stages of decay. As it turns out, Clyde Jr. inherited them from his father who passed last year. I’ve been wanting to shoot the location for over a year, but before this day, no one ever seemed to be home. I was lucky this time, as Clyde Jr. was out in the yard, working on a few of the tractors along with two friends.

Clyde Jr., being a retired aviation mechanic at the local air base, is fixing up the tractors for sale in the spring. When he told me how much he might get for one piece which I thought might never run again, I was astounded, and figured that he was spending his retirement time very well.

While there, I just, umm, couldn’t help but notice some of the old farm gear (Entangled), trucks, and old school buses that littered the property, so after checking in with him, Clyde gave me permission to wander around looking for targets. This one looked particularly tempting, and while it’s slated for removal, I think it looks just fine where it is.

These gems that are hidden in fields and woods throughout eastern North Carolina are wonderful targets for photography, of course, but they also tend to instill in me a sense of comfort. I begin to understand that given enough time the land will always reclaim our man-made objects. Nothing we make lasts forever — especially the clothes-washer-turned-paperweight I have whose warranty just expired 🙂  We can’t destroy Gaia. It lets me know that no matter how much of a footprint we might make today, it will be cleared away in time. I just hope Clyde Jr. doesn’t clear his property too quickly, before I have the chance to take a few more shots.

Twitter | Website

Tech: Nikon D7000, Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 lens at 13mm, f/5, ISO 100, seven exposures from tripod using Promote Control with center exposure at 1/200s. HDR Express to Photoshop.

7 responses to “Reclamation

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely wonderful image. Trees need places to grow, too. LOL Great blog Rob, I totally agree with your sentiments here.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Reclamation « Rob Hanson Photography Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. Great shot, Rob! You’ve processed this wonderfully!

  4. Nice one Rob, all those rich colors really make this old thing Pop

  5. Pingback: Clyde’s Rides « Rob Hanson Photography Blog

  6. Pingback: Gentlemen – Try to Start Your Engines « Rob Hanson Photography Blog

  7. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung « Rob Hanson Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

