To Every Purpose   8 comments


Old barn with rusty equipment on Ravenwood Farm in Pollocksville, North Carolina

Along the side of a barn near Pollocksville, NC, I found a collection of old pieces of farm gear, so I moved in for a close up. This is just one small section of the barn featured in If You Don’t See It, I Don’t Got It and Sorry, I Wasn’t Expecting Company.

Locations like this provide a wealth of opportunities for interesting images, so I consider it good fortune when we run across one of them. One thing I like about this view is that the upper part of the wall, protected by the roof and eaves, is of a distinctly different color than the gray, weathered area farther down the wall.

Nikon D7000, Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 lens at 20mm, f8, 9 exposures from Promote Control

Twitter | Website

8 responses to “To Every Purpose

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wouldn’t you love to see the old hands that used that tackle.

  2. This is a rusty paradise! Love all the tools and the texture contrast they provide to the wooden backdrop. Wonderful image!

  3. I agree with Gary. These kind of shots to me tell a story about a person without the person being in the shot.

  4. Like the color and textures, really curious about what the purpose of all those dookhickies was.

  5. What a great photo. I spent a long time looking at it. I love how you don’t show the entire collection but give hints to how much is there. The colors and textures are fabulous and you want to meet the person that put the stuff up there.

  6. I don;t think I’ve ever seen so many hitch pins in one place! Amazing detail and processing. Definitely one of my favorites!

  7. Thanks, all. I hardly paid attention to this shot in my library, and then took a third look recently. Glad I did.

    Wayne, a later comment suggests that they are ‘hitch pins’, which makes sense. Various connectors for hooking up tractors and various attachments.

    Always great to have all ya’ll peeking in! Thanks for visiting. I’m truly tickled that you stop by for a bit.

  8. Sweet shot Rob!!

Leave a Reply

