Early American Screen Door   11 comments


An Early American Screen Door

~
Just one of the many fun things about photography is that in researching your subjects, you can learn new things. I can’t suggest the number of times I’ve taken a picture of something interesting, only to find out more about it when I got home and cruised the internet looking for more information.

When I first developed this image, I decided to call it ‘Early American Screen Door.’ I figured that the wood slats on this shed door had deteriorated to the point that you could see through, and the wind would whistle through.

I showed the finished image to my neighbor — the one whose family farm is featured in GOAL!!, Cooning Boat, and Put Me In, Coach! The neighbor said, “The door is made that way deliberately in order to ventilate the corn crib.”

Call me a city boy, but I never knew that. Now it makes perfect sense.

I seem to always be pleasantly surprised at the ingenuity of previous generations during a time when there weren’t the amenities and conveniences that today we take too much for granted.

Follow on Twitter | Galleries | Friend on Facebook

11 responses to “Early American Screen Door

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Such nice detail

  2. After reading the story, the door makes perfect sense. I cannot imagine how long it must have taken to build a door like this over and over as people built new farm structures. Great shot and awesome story.

  3. Awesome finding in the image and the story! Well down.

  4. Thank you Rob for these updates! I am enjoying them really much!

  5. didn’t know that either, well shot too Rob!

  6. Love the texture with the wood and all the nail patterns.

  7. Great capture here Rob. I never knew that either!

  8. Wow, that’s pretty interesting! My grandfather has a farm, but I never knew that!

  9. Excellent image Rob! Being a farm kid from Iowa I actually knew that. Some of our old corn cribs had doors like this before we started building them all with wire mesh. Love the image, brings back good memories, hard work but good memories. I am working on some images using your information and tutorial, have not quite finished one to my liking yet but soon. Thanks and have a great day.

  10. Good God, Rob, how cool is that! Love the backstory to this wonderful shot!! Great textures & details here in this one today, my friend, I love it!!

  11. nice shot love the details in the wood!

Leave a Reply

