Bob Lussier   6 comments


Bob Lussier
~

A while back my online friend, Bob Lussier, told me that he was paying a visit to relatives in North Carolina and asked if I’d be available to get together for some fun and photography. Being a big fan of Bob’s work, I jumped at the chance.

I drove south to the Wilmington – Southport area to meet up with Bob, where we took a ferry out to Bald Head Island, home of the oldest standing lighthouse in North Carolina. It was a fantastic target, and we spent quite a bit of time inside the lighthouse, shooting stairwells, crumbling brick, and other bits of Rurex (Rural Exploration) goodness. We might’ve stayed in there even longer, but it felt like 120 degrees inside. By the time we exited the lighthouse, we were drenched. I tried to tell him not to visit in August, but would he listen? Nooooooo…..

On the way back to the ferry, we found this old boathouse sitting in the marshes… it was too good to pass up. To see the image that Bob captured as I took this shot of him, please visit the related post on Bob’s blog, Bald Head Boat House.

As it turned out, Bob and I got along extremely well, and while driving back to my hotel late that evening, I was startled to realize, “Hey, I just spent almost 12 hours with him and the time seemed to pass like minutes.” Bob’s a wonderful, affable guy. I’m really delighted that we had the chance to meet in person and share some time together.

500px | Google+ | Follow on Twitter | Galleries | Facebook

6 responses to “Bob Lussier

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sweeet location, nice shot of Bob!

  2. Really nice image and excellent locations! Glad you survived the heat and had a great time!

  3. Pingback: Bald Head Boat House » Lussier Photography

  4. Bob is one of my personal biggest heroes, this is just such a cool glimpse into the persona of the man! What a great opportunity you had Rob. You’re one of my heroes too, so this to me is like a SuperHero convention. Where’s the capes?

  5. Very cool that you and Bob were able to meet up, Rob. And that’s a great shot you got of Bob at work.

  6. Pingback: “Old Baldy” Lighthouse « Rob Hanson Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

