Under the First Layer   4 comments


Under the First Layer
~

To the same location where Molasses and I Fought the Lawn… were shot, I returned the other day with prints in hand to give to the elder Mr. Riggs, who owns the granary and feed store on the property. It was my way of getting him to allow unfettered access to the remainder of the property… and it worked. Well, he wouldn’t let me inside any of the buildings, but there was much to be seen as I worked my way through the woods and fields.

There’s nothing modern about this place. All the barns, silos, and tin buildings are worn and weathered, with some close to collapse.

I worked my way around one large building and found this vignette on the back and propped my tripod between the building and a large pecan tree that had fallen thanks to Hurricane Irene. I marveled at the slow collapse of the wooden siding, boards holding on by just a few nails here and there, and the weathered look of old tar paper and wood being revealed bit-by-bit over time.

~

This is a 9-frame HDR processed using both Photomatix Pro and HDR Express/32 Float. Also of note is that post-processing in Photoshop was done with the brandy-new Color Efex Pro 4 from Nik Software, now in beta. We’ve just been released to speak of the new program, and lemme tell you… it’s a great update!

500px | Google+ | Follow on Twitter | Galleries | Facebook

4 responses to “Under the First Layer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is such a fun shot, despite it being a result of the hurricane. I just could not imagine the amount of time it took to hang all those wood planks for the siding, and then to have a hurricane come and rip them down in a matter of moments. Glad you got to roam around the property 🙂

  2. Great details and textures Rob. Interesting geometry to the wood.

  3. Love the wood pattern, you have an email from me, I like how you pulled all the colors out of this, take care Rob

  4. Great textures here Rob, cool shot

Leave a Reply

