Linzee’s Window   13 comments


Linzee's Window

Located at St. Saviour’s Episcopal Parish, Bar Harbor, Maine.

This church is definitely worth a stop if you’re in Bar Harbor. Although on the small side as far as churches go, it’s adorned with dozens of beautiful stained glass windows, with ten of them by Tiffany. I was particularly attracted to this one for it’s rich color and depiction of the local scenery.

From the St. Saviour’s web site:

Elizabeth Linzee: Designed by Denby of New York, made in Boston in 1937. It depicts St. Elizabeth with the child Jesus and St. John the Baptist. Note the hills of Mt. Desert Island in the background and the Trinity depicted with three gulls. Miss Linzee was an active supporter of the Jesup Library during a lifetime of summers in Bar Harbor.

More information on the church’s windows can be found here.

Because of the low amount of available light in the church, I shot this as a bracketed set in order to capture all elements of the window. Turns out that I needed them all! Nine exposures at 26mm, f/2.8, ISO100

500px | Google+ | Follow on Twitter | Galleries & Prints

13 responses to “Linzee’s Window

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it;s beautiful

  2. That is quite the piece of glass. I love stained glass in churches, they are always so complex and pretty. Nice work.

  3. Wonderful colors Rob. I missed this when I was in Bar Harbor. Gives me another reason to go back.

  4. Beautiful shot Rob. Now you’re getting me all excited for my trip to Bar harbour.

  5. Stunning work as usual. You have captured this one perfectly.

  6. I’m a big lover of stained glass and this is a real beauty. Excellent capture too.

  7. Gorgeous window, and an excellent capture of it! I’ve always been frustrated with my attempts to photograph stained glass windows; now I need to try again 🙂

  8. Absolutely great colors and tones here, Rob, LOVE this shot my friend!

  9. You caught it all Rob. Processed beautifully.

  10. The title brings back memories. I won’t explain though 🙂

  11. This is stunning beautiful, Rob. Excellent work, man.

  12. Love the colors here Rob wow, stunning man

  13. Pingback: Explode Your Brain With All of These Great Photography Links | Brooklyn NYC photography blog

Leave a Reply

