When Life Hands You Lemons…   7 comments


~

When Life Hands You Lemons… Ask for Salt and Tequila.

For the latest round of the ever-entertaining HDR collaboration project between Mark Garbowski, Jacques Gudé, and myself, Rob Hanson, I contributed a set of brackets that I’ve always wished had come out better. In those frames, I saw several serious challenges to post-processing, and I wanted to see what other minds could do with such a lousy set of photos.

I’ve included the original 0EV RAW file here so that you can see the starting point.  (For any images in this blog post, you can click on the image to open a larger version in a new tab or window.)

The Blades House in New Bern, NC.

 

The brackets were taken at 15mm with a Tokina 11-16mm lens, f/2.8, ISO 200, 1/320 s. (The “lousy” comes from behind the camera; it has nothing much to do with the Tokina glass.) Not having a perspective-control lens, the image of the house has a serious vertical plane skew, with the turrets leaning inward. The wind was blowing and the available light was low, so even individual frames have ghosting motion in the tree branches. Overall, the focus was soft and indistinct. A building and telephone pole to the left didn’t help the overall composition, either.

The subject is the Blades House in New Bern, North Carolina. Built for a local lumber baron in 1907, it stands as one of the most distinctive houses in the downtown historical district, and is on the National Register of Historic Places. Despite having fallen into serious disrepair over the years, it was recently renovated by current owners Mark and Lynn Harakal, who are friends of mine. Someday, I’ll be shooting the interior, which features an incredible selection of prime woods, including beautiful old oak wainscoting and birdseye maple mouldings.

Jacques Gudé’s Version:

The Blades House in New Bern, North Carolina, and HDR processed by friend Jacques Gudé

 

Jacques said of his post-processing efforts, “I played with the distortion, and could have corrected it fairly well, but I was not pleased with how much I was going to lose of the top right steeple, which was already missing some.  In the end, I decide to leave the distortion and focus more on the patio level and just a wee bit above.”

 
Mark Garbowski’s Version:

 

The Blades House in New Bern, North Carolina, an HDR processed by friend Mark Garbowski

 

Mark said, “My frustration was, I think, mostly at my own inability to correct the distortion.”

I have to admit, the distortion wasn’t easy to address without losing chunks of the house!

Rob Hanson’s Version:

The Blades House in New Bern, North Carolina, an HDR processed by Rob Hanson Photography

 

For my version, I wanted to evoke a bit of a creepy, unsettling feel to the image, in keeping with the cold, gray winter day and the old Queen Anne style of architecture.  After cloning out distractions and improving sharpness and contrast in areas, I desaturated it for more coldness using Nik Color Efex Pro. Afterward, I applied a bokeh spin effect using Alien Skin Boheh 2 to generate a sense of extreme disorientation. This also helped to divert attention away from the overall lack of focus and motion blur inherent in the image. Darkening things up a bit on the edges helps to give more of a foreboding feel, and that evidently seemed to be enough to conjure up possible past residents of this estate. (Hint: Zoom in and check the windows closely.)

I’d like to thank Mark and Jacques for participating in this fun and interesting project. As with the first round, I find it fascinating to see how widely varied the artistic vision can be from one photographer to another, and how we each address key challenges in a given image.  It’s very enlightening to see through anothers’ eyes, and I learn something new with each pass.

To see the previous round of images from the collaborative experiment, please click here to open Mark Garbowski’s blog “Too Much Glass” in a new window.

Posted December 5, 2010 by Rob Hanson Photography in HDR, post-processing

Tagged with ,

7 responses to “When Life Hands You Lemons…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post, Rob! I’m digging this collaboration, a lot. I’m going out shooting at an old abandoned asylum near Berlin on Monday with some local URBEX pals (safety in numbers where haunted places are concerned) and will look for some super tasty brackets for the next round!

  2. i too am enjoying the collaboration. Besides the distortion I mentioned above, I also thought the sky presented some difficulty. I was able to add some localized saturation to gain some color in the sky, but only on one side of the image. I also tried a bunch of black and white treatments, but none of them satisfied me. It seemed everything I tried didn’t quite work. I note we all used some form of blur to frame the house. I used the Vignette Blur tool on Nik Color Efex, and wouldn’t be surprised to find Jacques used the same (if not, it was probably Focal Point). I think Rob did the best with the vortex blur effect.

  3. It’s interesting to see what you all did with the same image. Some time ago a group of us on Flickr used to do the same (HDR process only) and it was amazing how many different interpretations we would get of the same image

    Mike

  4. Good stuff fellas! I’m amazed at how people see the same thing so differently. awesome!

  5. Cool idea Rob, ever need a 4th to join the fun let me know

  6. Pingback: Crosswalk No. 72 » Too Much Glass

  7. Pingback: The Blades House | Collaborative Experiment - Rob Hanson Photography - HDRPhotog.com

Leave a comment