Inside Lines   5 comments


Inside Lines

~

I entered the abandoned farmhouse featured in “Purity of Intention”, entering not through the front door, but through a window in the room on the right, as Jeff had shown me. Often, due to weathering, the front porch is the first thing to fail on these old houses. I tested the porch floor, and although I had on my heavy boots and clothes, I knew that it was not to be trusted.

Moving carefully from room to room, I looked for the opportunities. One of the first to appear was this view from the back of the central hallway toward the front; the play of light and shadow was compelling, bringing in both a comfortable feel as well as some genuine spookiness. The lines from the stacked boards, the ceiling, and the exposed beams all converged on the front door. The house also showed that the owners had a sense of decorating style, as the blue, green, and yellow paint were all visible from one spot.

Jeff had already removed some materials from inside. The rest, no doubt, was likely the result of vandalism.

500px | Google+ | Twitter | Purchase a Print

5 responses to “Inside Lines

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice Rob!

  2. Wonderful shot. I love to think of this home’s history.

  3. Wonderful shot Rob.

  4. Grungy urbex goodness, Love those big trees around the house shot, makes me wanna dive into some urbex myself, Happy Thanksgiving to you both

  5. that’s just way cool bud, nice work! thanks too for the thoughtful comment on my Twitter rant 😉

Leave a comment